Edinburgh Twilight by Carole Lawrence Ian Hamilton Mysteries Book 1


I literally read this novel in one day because I could not put it down.

I loved it and can not wait for the next book in the series! Hopefully the wait wont be too long!

Detective Inspector Ian Hamilton aided by Detective Sergeant Dickerson along with a few other interesting characters are on the hunt for the “Holyrood Strangler” a serial killer that is stalking the streets of 19th century Edinburgh.

Edinburgh is made up of New Town, a wealthy enclave of easy-living residents and Old Town where the poor, downtrodden and criminal element live and this story encompasses both in such a well written way that you can almost reach out and touch it.

The story is told from various points of view, from the killer, victims, and from the Inspector which adds to the immersive layers throughout and also encompasses some back story as well as the hunt for the serial killer.

The characters are portrayed in such a way that makes them believable and human.

If you are interested in historical mysteries and the development of police ideas and procedures, this is your new favourite book of 2017!!

An amazing start to a series and I will definitely read more as the series continues.

Congratulations Carole Lawrence on a perfect debut novel.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s